Events Latest News Music

Latin Songwriters Hall Of Fame Announces Pitbull To Receive Icon Award At 2019 La Musa Awards

José José Will Receive The Living Legend Award & Will Be Honored With A Posthumous Tribute

Star-studded line up including Ivy Queen, Kany García, Willie Colón, Pitbull, Elvis Crespo, Pablo Montero and more, will light up the stage on October 24th at the James L. Knight Center in Miami.

Miami, FL. (October, 2019) – The Latin Songwriters Hall of Fame (LSHOF) is proud to announce their new honorees for the upcoming 7th annual 2019 LA MUSA AWARDS.

Award-winning Cuban-American entertainer, producer and international superstar Pitbull will be presented with the Icon Award, while prominent regional Mexican songwriter and producer Luciano Luna will be given the Conqueror Award and will be honored with a tribute performance by Banda Fortuna. American Grammy Award and Latin Grammy Award-winning guitarist, producer and songwriter Dan Warner, who passed away on September 4, will be posthumously awarded the Founders Award. In addition, Elvis Crespo’s Grammy-nominated international party anthem and #1 hit “Suavemente” will be recognized with the Song of All Time Award.

These honorees join the stellar group that was previously announced, which includes Puerto Rican star Kany García, who will receive the Elena Casals La Musa Award; Chairman & Chief Executive Officer for Universal Music Latin America and Iberian Peninsula Jesús López, who will be given the Desi Arnaz Pioneer Award; and President for Kobalt Music Latin America Nestor Casonu, who will be awarded the Ralph S. Peer Publisher Award.

Legendary Mexican icon José José, who passed away on September 28, will be recognized posthumously with the Living Legend Award and will be celebrated with a tribute featuring special performances by singer and actor Pablo Montero and other surprises.

The 2019 LA MUSA AWARDS ceremony and gala will take place on October 24 at the James L. Knight Center in Miami. The event will honor this year’s class of inductees: Puerto Rican reggaeton trailblazer Ivy Queen (“Quiero Bailar,” “Que Lloren”); Puerto Rican legendary music icon, Willie Colón (“Aguanile,” “La Murga,” “Sin Poderte Hablar”); Brazilian composer, musician, producer, and singer Michael Sullivan (“Um Dia De Domingo,” “Me Dê Motivo”); Argentine composer and singer Chico Novarro (“Algo Contigo,” “Cantata a Buenos Aires”); and Cuban composer, pianist, and arranger Armando Larrinaga (“Un Millón de Rosas,” “Me Estoy Enamorando,” “Vida”).

This year, music streaming platform Spotify returns as the official Title Sponsor of the awards ceremony, reflecting the company’s exceptional commitment to supporting Latin music and songwriters on its global platform with the continuing partnership. Having Spotify as a loyal ally and supporter of the LA MUSA AWARDS exalts the cultural importance and the industry relevance of Latin music. It also celebrates the people who make it, now that Latin artists and music creators continue to break down language barriers and geographical distance through their work. To celebrate 2019 LA MUSA AWARDS, the platform launched a playlist called “De Puño y Letra” as a dedication to Latin songwriters and artists such as José José, Ivy Queen, Elvis Crespo, Willie Colón, Kany Garcia, Chico Novarro, Michael Sullivan and others.


Listen to “De Puño y Letra” in Spotify



ZayZay.Com Newsletter!

Be the first to hear,
first to see, first to win!

Don’t worry, we really hate spam.
Your email is safe. 🙂