Latest News TV

‘Dancing With The Stars’ New Lineup And “Switch Up” Twist

'Dancing With The Stars' New Lineup And “Switch Up" Twist 1


This season’s dynamic lineup of stars — including two Olympic Gold Medalists, a game show host, a swimming legend and a teen pop star – will perform for the first time on live national television with their professional partners during the two-hour season premiere of “Dancing with the Stars,” MONDAY, MARCH 17 (8:00-10:01 p.m., ET) on the ABC Television Network.

In a first for “Dancing with the Stars,” the competition will feature a new game changing twist called “The Switch Up.” This season, America will be given the power to vote and change celebrities and professional dance pairings. This new rule will affect all couples as they will be required to switch partners at a point in the season. Never before have dance partnerships been split up during the course of competition.

As first announced on ABC’s “Good Morning America” by “Dancing with the Stars” hosts Tom Bergeron and Erin Andrews, the 12 celebrities with their professional partners heading to the dance floor this season (in alphabetical order) are:
GMA DWTS season 18
Sean Avery (former pro hockey player) and Karina Smirnoff
Candace Cameron Bure (actress, author and inspirational speaker) and Mark Ballas
Drew Carey (comedian and actor) and Cheryl Burke
Meryl Davis (Olympic ice dancer) and Maksim Chmerkovskiy
Nene Leakes (reality TV star and actress) and Tony Dovolani
James Maslow (actor and musician) and Peta Murgatroyd
Danica McKellar (actress) and Valentin Chmerkovskiy
Diana Nyad (swimmer and author) and Henry Byalikov
Amy Purdy (Paralympic snowboarder) and Derek Hough
Cody Simpson (musician) and Witney Carson
Charlie White (Olympic ice dancer) and Sharna Burgess
Billy Dee Williams (actor) and Emma Slater

Viewers may cast their votes for their favorite teams via phone on Monday nights during and up to 60 minutes after the end of the “Dancing with the Stars” broadcast in each time zone. Online voting at and on Facebook at is open for 24 hours, beginning from the start of each episode on the East Coast at 8:00 p.m., ET/5:00 p.m., PT and closing at 8:00 p.m., ET/5:00 p.m., PT on Tuesday evenings. For the final week, on Monday, May 19, online voting will open for 15 hours, beginning from the start of the episode on the East Coast at 8:00 p.m., ET/5:00 p.m., PT and closing at 11:00 a.m., ET/8:00 a.m., PT the next day. A custom Facebook app lets fans vote, share whom they voted for and say why, as well as see whom friends voted for.

Hosted by Emmy® Award-winning host Tom Bergeron (“America’s Funniest Home Videos”) and Erin Andrews (sports host & “Dancing with the Stars” Season 10 finalist), “Dancing with the Stars” is the hit series in which celebrities perform choreographed dance routines which are judged by renowned ballroom judge Len Goodman and dancer/choreographers Bruno Tonioli and Carrie Ann Inaba.






ZayZay.Com Newsletter!

Be the first to hear,
first to see, first to win!

Don’t worry, we really hate spam.
Your email is safe. 🙂