Latest News MEDIA

Floyd Mayweather Likely To Lose Championship Belts He Won From Pacquiao

Floyd Mayweather Likely To Lose Championship Belts He Won From Pacquiao

Floyd Mayweather is a very, very rich man. Numbers are still pouring in from his fight with Manny Pacquiao — the so-called biggest fight ever — and it turns out he stands to make a stupid amount of cash; between $220 million and $230 million. If only he could fork some money over to help Greece out.

At any rate, during the May 2 fight with Pacquiao, people were talking about the money and the historic aspect of the fight, but nobody was really saying anything about the fact that Mayweather could take Pacquaio’s World Boxing Organization 147 pound belt. With the win (and lacklustre fight IMHO) Mayweather took that belt from Pacquaio, but he now may have to give it up.

According to ESPN’s Dan Rafael, if Mayweather doesn’t adhere to the World Boxing Organization’s rules by 4:30 p.m. E.S.T., he’ll be stripped of the belt on Monday.

The rule he is apparently breaking, according to Complex, is that he didn’t vacate his World Boxing Association and World Boxing Council 154 pound belts for the WBO’s 147 pounder.

So, will Mayweather give it up or not? In all honesty, who cares? He’s got enough money in the bank to start his own country and he’s already said he would relinquish his titles, even if he went back on that later.

What Mayweather should be caring about now is who he’ll fight next. Pretty much any fighter would do anything to get in the ring with Floyd (that money money), but he has to choose wisely because he doesn’t have too may more fights to go.





ZayZay.Com Newsletter!

Be the first to hear,
first to see, first to win!

Don’t worry, we really hate spam.
Your email is safe. 🙂