Netflix is set to enable a secret streaming mode that will allow you to watch TV shows and movies without your viewing history being recorded.
The “Privacy Mode” will allow you to watch those guilty pleasures of yours without a single soul knowing you have done so, and will also ensure that these guilty pleasures won’t lead to similar content clogging up your recommended list. The new mode is specifically intended for people who share a Netflix account with multiple people, so that they will no longer be able to call you out when you spend an afternoon watching My Little Pony: Friendship is Magic.
Confirming the new feature on GigaOm, Netflix released the following statement: “At Netflix we continuously test new things. In this case, we are testing a feature in which a user watching a movie or TV show can choose to view in “Privacy Mode.” Choosing that option means the program will not appear in your viewing activity log, nor will it be used to determine recommendations about what you should watch in the future.”
Tests for the new feature are expected to continue for the next few months in all regions, though Netflix has stated that it will only receive a general release if it is well-received.
by Paul Carmino Tamburro