Latest News Music

The New Tijuana Panthers Single, ‘You Died’, Is A Reconciliation With Mortality

Their Album, ‘Carpet Denim’ Is Out On Innovative Leisure July 12

The band will be touring the U.S. With Together PANGEA This Summer + Announce SoCal Record Release Shows With No Age In September

“the band’s refusal to play by the book is a blessing to the ears.” – KEXP
“Cribbing as much from Brian Wilson’s lyrical topics as they take from DickDale’s reverb-soaked guitar tone” – Noisey / Vice

Tijuana Panthers have revealed their third single off of their forthcoming album today. Titled ‘You Died,’ the song repeats the question: Do I have the same heart you had, bringing to light one of the more brutal and simultaneously grounding things humans do surrounding someone’s death- questioning one’s own mortality. “You Died is a song about losing my father when I was 9 years old. He suffered a heart attack in his sleep on the fourth of July,’ says Dan Michicoff (bassist). “He died at the age of 43. As I get closer to his final age I can’t help but feel anxious about my own mortality.” The song, brutally honest, is punctuated with those signature surfy guitar tones as the chorus bluntly repeats ‘You died‘- as if in attempt to finally come to terms with what happened and move forward
You Died is the third single from off of the band’s forthcoming album, Carpet Denim, which comes out on July 12 via Innovative Leisure. On the new album, the Long Beach band of goofballs brings us their signature sun-drenched glowy-ness, this time with a new air of maturity- from tighter sounds to deeper subjects. Carpet Denim is an album that doesn’t fear darkness, rather, approaches it with a little bit of light in hand.

The album very intentionally balances the heavy stuff with some of life’s lighter subjects- like nostalgia about growing up in Long Beach and Twin Peaks fandom (listen- you’ll hear it). Genuine to the sound that started turning heads years ago, the band also experiments with more minimal and abstract elements.

The band returned to their hometown of Long Beach, CA to record Carpet Denim at Jazzcats studio. Unlike earlier albums such as Poster and Wayne Interest – which were recorded in a flash-bang, marathon sitting, the band’s latest album was methodically assembled by Jonny Bell over multiple days. Pouring over production, Carpet Denim is a collective deep breath that weaves together years of songwriting — all jam-packed with summertime vibes, peaks of punk rock and Tijuana Panthers’ signature oddball adventures.


Carpet Denim- Tijuana Panthers

1. Path Of Totality
2. First Date
3. 710
4. Little Pamplemousse
5. Owl Eyes
6. End Of My Rope
7. Garbage Person

8. I Don’t Mind
9. Generation Singular
10. TV People
11. Different Side Of Town
12. You Died
13. Rat Tail
14. Friday Night Baby






ZayZay.Com Newsletter!

Be the first to hear,
first to see, first to win!

Don’t worry, we really hate spam.
Your email is safe. 🙂